Blog for mental health 2013.

I commit to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase discrimination.

I’ve been meaning to do this post for a while, but hadn’t ever quite got around to it. At latest count, there’s over 60 bloggers on the blogroll of this important project.

I’ve changed a word in the ‘pledge’ that I’ve copied here: the last word of my pledge is not ‘stigma’, it’s ‘discrimination.’ I’ve been thinking about this a lot, following a twitter conversation started by @stfumisogynists about a month ago.

Screen shot 2013-04-10 at 16.16.46

I believe that the use of the word ‘stigma’ rather than the term ‘discrimination’ may actually serve to perpetuate discrimination. Stigma is essentially an individualising word. It makes it about our problems as individuals with mental health problems and places the burden of responsibility on us as individuals to “come out” and challenge stigma. I’d rather talk about the discrimination that we face on the basis of our mental health status, that has nothing to do with us as individuals and everything to do with the society and culture that we live in.

Choosing to approach this through the lens of discrimination shifts the focus from us as individuals and places responsibility squarely back on the shoulders of those it belongs to: individual people, institutions and cultures that discriminate against us.

Here’s to blogging for mental health in 2013.

[An update: there’s another bit to this thing, where you’re supposed to write a bio of your mental health and ‘pledge’ other people. I’m reluctant to write a bio of my mental health, because my mental health is not me and it doesn’t deserve it’s own bio. I’m lots of things: a feminist, a writer, a cyclist, a researcher, a music lover, a beer drinker, a traveller, a tourist, an atheist, an immigrant, an activist, a cook etc etc. My mental health is part of me, but it’s not me. Secondly, I’m not a fan of the word ‘pledge’ either, but that’s a story for another day. If I have to recommend someone, I’ll go with Zedkat by the fab @stfumisogynists. Click that link, it will make you laugh.]

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Blog for mental health 2013.

  1. Ruby Tuesday says:

    I’m glad you’ve decided to join us and put your own thoughts into this post. I prefer the term stigma myself, as it covers a whole range of attitudes: mental, perceptual, affectual, and actual implementation of discrimination (which, to me, is a more “active” word and implies a measurable effect). But I love that you have found the way that best suits you to describe it. That’s what matters, we’re all individuals and through our unique experiences we gain strength as a group!

    For your readers who would like to be included on the blogroll, they should check out the following: Blog For Mental Health 2013 | A Canvas Of The Minds.

  2. indytony says:

    I just took the pledge myself and I’m now visiting my comrades blogging for mental health.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts. Perhaps we can encourage each other.

Share your thoughts.

Sectioned

A blog about mental health & mental healthcare

Nectar Madness: My Bipolar Sapience

Views of a Bipolar lesbian offering intelligent & witty commentary, advocacy, advice, creativity, & reflection.

The Fementalists

At the intersection of feminism and mental health activism

Between the Lines

Said and Unsaid, On and Off the Couch

suicidalsupergirl

saving the world, one malady at a time.

Pride in Madness

"Because the only people for me are the Mad ones." - Jack Kerouac

She Must Be Mental

“Normal is an illusion. What is normal for the spider is chaos for the fly” - Morticia Addams.

When I'm just one fighting indifference, does it matter what I say?

On mental illness, Christianity, university, and life as I know it.

Swimming Upstream

Fighting the current of life.

Steph's Soapbox

What's on my mind today

Hello Sailor

This message of friendship and flowers

AnxiousElephant

My attempt to escape from anxiety and depression

Angst Anarchy

The Chaotic Ramblings of a Humorous Sarcastic Madwoman

All that I am, all that I ever was...

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is...

aliceatwonderland

. . . down the rabbit hole

2bbritt

Various thoughts on various subjects

Deprifun

Fun in pills form as a complementary therapy to depression

